What is Medicare and who can get it?

Medicare is our country’s health insurance program. Although most commonly used by people age 65 or older, some younger people are eligible for Medicare, too. Those include people with disabilities, permanent kidney failure and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease). Medicare helps with the cost of health care, but it does not cover all medical expenses or the cost of most long-term care. Medicare has four parts:

  • Part A—Hospital insurance;
  • Part B—Medical insurance;
  • Part C—Medicare Advantage; and
  • Part D—Prescription drug coverage.

See the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services for more information.

Rating:Rating of 4 Stars1524 Votes
Was this answer helpful?YesNo
Topic Information
  • Topic #: 34011-3771
  • Date Created: 03/31/2014
  • Last Modified Since: 12/05/2017
  • Viewed: 202772